News

Data deletion – Another interesting change by Google

Data deletion – Another interesting change by Google


Google have announced that they intend to add an automatic data deletion option that will delete users Web and App Activity and Location History every 18-month period. This is after they made a pledge “to keep less data by default”.

This update will not however, remove users personal content storages such as Gmail, Drive. Calendar or Photo’s. Google and Alphabet CEO Sundar Pichai has stated that this will be extended to YouTube. “It will be set to 36 months by default if you create a new account and turn on your YouTube History for the first time”.

“We believe that products should keep your information for only as long as it’s useful and helpful to you, whether that’s being able to find your favourite destinations in Maps or getting recommendations for what to watch on YouTube,” Pichai continued.

The first sign of the auto-delete option was back in May 2019, which allowed users to access their settings and select a time period between 3 and 18 months for how long Google would retain their data for. Google have now taken the stance that this should be an automatic setting.

In his interview Pichai maintained that Google are implementing this to ensure the privacy of its users. This along with the previous updates such as the Google Images fact checker, are helping to make Google a more trustworthy and reliable source of information.

Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

Back to news

Click here for remote support if we ask you to do so.